The Perfect Guide To Watch Fate Anime Series

Fate Series is a renowned visual novel series that has been adapted into anime by multiple studios and has numerous adaptations. The anime adaptation of the Fate series first aired in 2006 and has been going strong since then.

However, the series has quite a complex watch order that is sometimes a big hassle for the new fans who decide to enter the world of the Fate franchise. The Fate series is full of unorganized spin-offs and canon anime that were released irregularly over the years, which makes it confusing for many new viewers.

If you are confused about where to start the series, you are not the only one. In this article, we will cover the best possible watch order of the Fate series.

Fate Series Watch Order

Before we get into the list, everyone should know what they are getting themselves into. Fate is a fantasy series that follows the events of a war known as the Holy Grail War. The winning duo of the war will attain the power of “Holy Grail,” which grants the wish of each member of the duo.

Now, without wasting any more time, let’s get right into the watch order list!

Fate Series Canon Watch Order

Although it may be confusing, this watch order list will help you know about the perfect starting point for the Fate series and what to skip and watch. The main watch order of the Fate series is as follows:

  • Fate/Zero (2011)
  • Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014)
  • Fate/Stay Night: Heaven’s Feel (Movie Trilogy)
  • Fate/Stay Night (2006) (totally optional)

This list is for the canon anime of the Fate series that will give you the main layout of the story of the series.

You would like: Demon Slayer Season 4 Has Been Officially Announced

Fate/Zero (2011)

Fate/Zero (2011) is an anime adaptation of the Light Novel of Fate series, written by the renowned novelist Gen Urobuchi and supervised by the creator of the Fate series, Type-Moon.

Fate/Zero follows the world-renowned mage killer named Kiritsugu Emiya. The anime originally served as a prequel.

Fate/Zero gives a major depth into the history of the Grail Wars and its complexities. The anime follows the story events of Kiritusgu Emiya when he becomes a participant in the Fourth Holy Grail War. Kiritsugu is accompanied by his servant, Artoria Pendragon.

Fate/Zero is set in the city of Fuyuki and serves as the main bridge between the other two anime. The anime first aired in 2011 and consisted of two seasons. The Light Novels were animated by Studio Ufotable.

Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014)

Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works is the sequel to Fate/Zero. The anime focuses on Shirou Emiya, an orphan who was raised by the late Kiritsugu Emiya. Before his passing, Kiritsugu taught Shirou all of the magecraft essentials and passed on his ideals to him.

Along with Shirou, the leading lady of the series, is Rin Tohsaka, a powerful mage and Shirou’s love interest throughout the series. Having a relationship of rivals and friends, together they are bound to fight in the Holy Grail War.

Along with the growing friendship between Rin and Shirou, the series also follows Shirou’s immense hatred against Rin’s servant, Archer.

The series follows Shirou Emiya’s events and his participation in the Fifth Holy Grail War and becoming the master of Kiritsugu’s servant, Artoria Pendragon.

The anime aired in 2014, and similar to Fate/Zero, it spans two seasons that Studio Ufotable animated.

Fate/Stay Night: Heaven’s Feel (The Movie Trilogy)

Fate/Stay Night: Heaven’s Feel is a movie trilogy that serves as a finale of the canon story of the Fate series. In this movie trilogy, alongside Shirou, the leading lady is his childhood friend, Sakura Matou.

Sakura’s past is not only connected with the history of the Holy Grail Wars but her past is also tied with the individual behind the murders of the Grail War’s participant.

Heaven’s Feel also explores the depths of characters that were introduced before, more prominently.

Also Read: Chainsaw Man Anime Reportedly Getting Season 2 & A Movie

The watch order for the movies is chronological. The end of the trilogy’s third movie marks the series’s canonical end.

  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] I. presage flower (2017)
  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] II. lost butterfly (2019)
  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] III. spring song (2020)

Fate/Stay Night (2006 / Optional)

Fate/Stay Night was adapted by studio DEEN back in 2006, but it is totally optional if the viewer wants to watch it or not.

In comparison to 2014 Ufotable’s Unlimited Blade Works, the 2014 one provides more fleshed-out characters and top-notch animation.

Although, if you are willing to watch Fate/Stay Night 2006, it is recommended to watch it after all of the canon anime animated by Studio Ufotable.

About The Other Fate Series

Except for the ones that are mentioned above in this list, every other Fate series serves as a spin-off in and actually has no order of watching. The famous and major Fate series spin-offs include:

  • Fate/Grand Order
  • Fate/Apocrypha
  • Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya
  • Fate/EXTRA Last Encore
  • Fate/Prototype
  • Fate/Strange Fake: Whispers of Dawn (upcoming)

Among all of these, Fate/Strange Fake is the anime that takes place in another visual novel universe, Tsukihime, created by the creator of Fate, Type-Moon.

Although these spin-offs can be watched in any order, Fate/Grand Order and Fate/Kalied have multiple sub-series under their flag. If you are thinking of getting into Fate/Grand Order and Fate/Kalied, the watch order is as follows:

Also Read: Top 10 Highest-Rated Anime Series of Spring Season 2023

Fate/Grand Order

  1. Fate/Grand Order – Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia – Initium Inter
  2. Fate/Grand Order Divine Realm of the Round Table: Camelot – Wandering; Agateram (Movie)
  3. Divine Realm of the Round Table: Camelot 2 – Paladin; Agateram (Movie, sequel to Camelot)
  4. Fate/Grand Order: Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia
  5. Fate/Grand Order: Final Singularity Grand Temple of Time: Solomon

This is the correct watch order to get into the world of the most famous Fate series spin-off, Fate/Grand Order.

Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya

  1. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya
  2. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 2wei!
  3. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 2wei! Herz
  4. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 3rei!
  5. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya: Vow in the Snow
  6. Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya: Licht Nameless Girl
  7. (An upcoming movie with no title as of now)

Although the order for Kate/Kalied Liner Prisma seems confusing, as you try to watch the series, it will get simpler and simpler!

Fate/Zero Vs. Fate/Stay Night UBW: Where To Start From?

Although the canonical start of the Fate series begins from Fate/Zero, many visual novel readers have stated that it makes more sense to start from Fate/ Stay Night UBW (2014) as it clears out the questions more than Fate/Zero (2011.)

However, it is, without a doubt, permissible to say that a newbie can start the Fate series either from Fate/Zero or Fate/Stay Night UBW.

Nonetheless, it is recommended to start the series from Fate/Zero as it serves as the prequel. The events of Fate/Zero are the main events of the story that set it out.

Here are the details about the watch order and their differences that a newbie to the series should know about! Let us know in the comments what you think about it!

Stay updated with the latest anime and manga developments by following us on Google News!